Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser. Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser, um Ihre Erfahrung und Sicherheit zu verbessern.

Eight Countries - One Team

SolidarMed consists of local country teams in the eight countries of operation. Our teams include doctors, midwives, nursing specialists, computer experts, drivers and many more. From Switzerland, they are supported by a team at headquarters in Lucerne.

SolidarMed Team Lucerne, June 2021

Senior Management

Jochen Ehmer MD


Christian Heuss PhD

Head of Communications and Fundraising | Deputy Director

Elisabeth Meier-Birchmeier

Head of Finance, HR and Administration

Ilse van Roy

Head of International Programmes

Team Switzerland

Michèle Abouchar

Institutional Partnerships

Anna-Katharina Bagemiel

Digital Marketing & Fundraising

Lucia Gonzalez Fernandez MD, MSc.

Lesotho Research

Armin Halilovic


Linda Haller

Assistant International Programmes

Michael Hobbins PhD

Research, Quality and Development

Simone Hueber

Project partnerships

Anne Jores PhD

Programme Mozambique

Lucy Kormann

Individual Giving

Pierina Maibach


Raphaela Meli

Programme Lesotho

Karolin Pfeiffer MD MPH

Programme Tanzania

Laura Ruckstuhl PhD

Programme Zimbabwe

Nadia Reusser


René Sager

Design and Communication

Patrick Thomas

Programmes Zambia, South Africa, Kenya, India

Jacqueline Wespi

Finance and HR-Administration

Bettina Wyler

Communication (maternity representation)

Team Lesotho

The Lesotho team consists of 50 staff members based in Maseru and in the districts of Mokhotlong and Butha Buthe.

Irene Ayakaka

Technical Director

Ravi Gupta MD

Project Manager Health First Lesotho

Thakane Mojaje


Team Mozambique

The Mozambique team consists of 72 staff members based in Cabo Delgado province.

Barbara Kruspan

Country Director

Gaoussou Diakité MD

Technical Advisor MAMA

Idiovino Raphael

Project Manager Ancuabe

Faruk Mamudo

Accounting and Finances

Riccardo Lazzaro

Project Manager Triage

Flavio Cassimo

Project Manager UVONA

Team Tanzania

The Tanzania team consists of 17 staff members. They are based in Ifakara and in the districts of Ulanga, Malinyi and Mbulu.

Benatus Sambili

Country Director

Peter Hellmold MD

Project Manager Newborn Health Malinyi

Mary Yagalla

Project Manager AFYA Ulanga

Melchiades Rugatangya


Team Zambia

The Zambia team consists of 7 staff members based in Lusaka.

John Tierney

Country Director

Nzila Lubinda

Project Manager Housing

Beatrice Zulu

Project Manager Nursing

Petros Andreadis

Projektmanager und Technischer Berater Medical Licenciate

Team Zimbabwe

The Zimbabwe team has a total of 24 staff, 2 volunteers, 4 interns and 16 research assistants. It is based in Masvingo and Silveira.

Kudakwashe Madzeke

Country Director Zimbabwe

Witness Chigaba


Cordelia Kunzekwenyika MD

Project Manager HIV/TB

Ronald Manhibi

e-Health Project Manager

Alvern Mutengerere MD

Project Manager Non-communicable diseases

Eveline Muvirimi

Project Manager Maternal & Newborn Health

SolidarMed Board (absent from the photo: Bernadette Peterhans, Bettina Maeschli and Laura Frick, Guido Keel)


The Board of the association is elected by the General Assembly for a term of three years. In 2019, the members of the Board of Directors performed a total of 1,233 hours of voluntary work.

Niklaus Labhardt MD Professor

President | 'Research, Quality & Development'

Ruth Ospelt

Vice President | Representative Zambia

Markus Frei MD

Program Commission Representative Mozambique

Laura Frick

Finance & Economy

Guido Keel PhD Professor

Communication Commission

Bettina Maeschli

Marketing & Communictation | Kenya, South Africa & India

Bernadette Peterhans

Expertise in the international health sector

Robert van der Ploeg MD

Representative Tanzania

Gregor Stadler MD

Representative Zimbabwe

Hansjörg Widmer

Head of Audit Commission